My Truthful Travel Makeup Bag

IMG_0270 (2)IMG_0272We all have that image in our heads of walking through an Italian town with glowy skin and a bright lipstick – having a great time and looking put together. But it just doesn’t happen. What does happen is packing way too much in your makeup bag and then using just a few products a couple of times. I’ve been meaning to write this post for a while but haven’t got round to it – I’m going to go through my travel makeup bag and what I took with me to Italy but also what I actually did use and what I lugged around for no reason.

FACE
Even at home I don’t wear that much face makeup so I knew that in the sweltering heat I would not want to cake my face. For that reason, I brought two concealers: the Seventeen Skin Wow Concealer which I love for under my eyes as it is doesn’t have too much coverage and is a bright, light colour and Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in case my skin decided to be its usual self and go crazy with spots as this has great coverage for anything like that. To make my face look a bit less round and more defined, I brought the Revolution Ultra Sculpt and Contour Kit, mainly for the bronzer shade as it has a pretty good pigmentation and the colour is a beautiful warm natural bronze. I didn’t really bring it for the blush and highlight cause I knew I wouldn’t use them. And saving the best til last is the Lottie London Shimmer Squad Highlight Palette. I chose to bring this since the highlights are incredible so I use them most days as they are so bright and intense and of course you want to look glowing when you’re away.

WHAT DID I USE? I actually did use the Seventeen concealer quite a bit to cover my undereye bags but didn’t really bother with the Maybelline concealer. I used the bronzer shade and the highlight palette once or twice in the evenings to give some shape, warmth and glow and did love how that looked but I think when I was away I was just feeling generally lazy and tended to chuck on some concealer and mascara and just go enjoy the sun.

EYES
I’m quite proud of myself as I barely brought any eye makeup with me and that’s normally where the bag gets heavy. I had to fit a lot of this in my liquids bag so I had to sacrifice the cream eyeshadows that I wanted to take with me. I chose to just bring one eyeshadow palette and take the I Heart Chocolate palette because this has every shade I would need – many matte browns, highlights, shimmery golds and browns. I took the Soap & Glory Supercat Eyeliner in case I wanted to do some winged liner and the Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara because obviously, I need mascara otherwise a makeup look is not done. I love this mascara so much as it just gives so much length and volume to my lashes.

I did use the palette quite a lot (although only in the evenings). On days where I had no effort I would just add a matte brown in my crease but some days I did do a gold or brown proper eye look if I could be bothered. I didn’t use the eyeliner once because it takes so long to get a perfect wing and it probably would’ve melted in the heat anyways. But the mascara was probably the product I use the most because it’s always good to make me look more awake and just give me WAY better lashes.

IMG_0281 (2)
Swatches L-R: Rimmel 107, Tanya Burr Lip Gloss, MAC Velvet Teddy, MAC Whirl

LIPS
This is where I did overpack. Four lip products isn’t that bad but I only used two so that was a waste of space. I brought MAC’s Velvet Teddy because this is my holy grail lipstick as it is honestly my perfect nude, as well as MAC’s Whirl which is darker and more brown but I thought it could be perfect for evenings. I wanted to bring a bolder lip so I took the Rimmel 107 Lipstick in case I felt like a red and then I took the Tanya Burr Candy Cane lip gloss (linked similar) which is the perfect glossy pink lip which is bright without being too much.

I used Velvet Teddy on a couple of evenings to make me feel more fancy and the TB pink lip gloss a good few days because it looked great with just mascara or natural makeup and looked like you put in a lot more effort. I was apparently feeling shy cause I didn’t wanna wear a red although I don’t think it would’ve got on very well with eating pizza or pasta, especially clumsy old me. I do love Whirl but I didn’t really wear it as it’s more of a dark, autumnal shade and the matte formula is also a bit much when you wanna look fresh and natural.

IMG_0293So there’s everything makeup wise that I took on holiday with me and whether or not I did use it – I’ll find this so helpful to look back on for my next holiday and I hope you found it helpful in some way too or it inspired you not to overpack. Do you wear makeup on holiday?

Ellie xo

4 thoughts on “My Truthful Travel Makeup Bag

  1. To be quite honest, I don’t even have travel makeup; I always bring my entire bag 😂 Now that I think about that it’s sounds so ridiculous lol. Love your travel necessities though! Thanks for sharing! I hit your blog with a follow!
    Stop by my place sometime,
    Mena | femmerewritten.com ✨🌻

    Like

  2. First of all I am SO jealous of you going to Italy. I’ve never been but it’s somewhere I absolutely NEED to go someday. I really enjoyed reading this post and haven’t actually tried a lot of the products you’ve spoken about so that’s really interesting for me. I like the look of the bronzer! Always looking for something that won’t come up orange on my skin (I’m very pale). I sit and scroll through blogs all the time but stumble across this one was really nice 🙂 would love to hear from you at some point maybe about a collab or something! You can catch me on the contact page of my blog if you’d be interested in that xx

    https://tenmoreminutesblog.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

