The 2016 Roundup

2016… what a year it’s been. For me, one of the best in a long time but for the world not so great.

Yep, you guessed it, I’m talking about politics. I’m weirdly interested in politics and I think it might run in the family since my brother studied it at uni. I’ll try and keep this quick though so if you don’t like politics just skip to the paragraph after next.

Brexit and Donald Trump WTF. It was so hard for me because I was so interested in it and I thought I knew obviously what I would vote (if you followed me on twitter you will know) but I COULDNT VOTE. The older generations who won’t have to put up with it for nearly as long, (mostly) voted for the *sort of unaccepting but I can’t think of the right word* view, which is a shame. I would love to live in Spain one day too, but I doubt that will happen. With Trump, it just scares me. I never thought he would actually become president and the fact that he did… WHAT.

RIGHT, POLITICS TALK OVER. Let’s talk about personally how this year went. I feel SO MUCH happier and more confident at the end of this year than I did at the end of 2015. My friends make me laugh so much my cheeks hurt and they’re all so supportive and amazing, and hilarious. I feel closer to my family because this year I spent a lot more time with them, rather than just going back up to my room to watch YouTube as soon as I’ve eaten dinner.

At school I’m so much happier too, I get to do the subjects I really enjoy and I’m passionate about and for the moment it’s still interesting.

Let’s talk about blogging because it’s such a huge part of my life. In January 2016 I moved my blog to WordPress and I feel so much happier with my blog. I write so much more and enjoy it so much more. But the support I’ve been given from everyone that reads my blog and people on twitter is just amazing and any time anyone comments on a post or follows my Bloglovin, it means so much. You may not know, but when I first started blogging on Blogger and my posts were not great, I wrote a post saying “Is anyone out there? Reading? I feel like I’m writing to nobody.” And the fact that people actually read what I write now has made my day so much. i definitely don’t have a big audience compared to some, but success is relative and to me, nearing 100 followers on both Bloglovin and WordPress is insane.

Obviously, this year hasn’t been all smiles, there have been times when I thought I should give up blogging and times when my emotions go crazy. I was at a friend’s party having the best time, and I suddenly felt so alone and like everyone had a best friend but me.

I think I need to thank everyone that is reading this, my friends from school who are so funny and caring, the GRLPOWR girls and the two that have been there for me through everything and I couldn’t live without, you know who you are.

Thank you for this year, this is the soppiest I’ve ever been in a post but it probably was the best year of my life and I’m so grateful. Let’s hope next year we make less stupid decisions and have fun.

Ellie xoxo

6 thoughts on “The 2016 Roundup

  1. Aw this was such a nice post. I sometimes feel the same way being a smaller-side blogger, but I try to remember that, above all, I blog for me!
    Also I share your frustrations with politics girl…. ugh. I had my first ever vote this year, and I was so so crushed by the outcome. šŸ˜¦ Ah well. We’ve just got to keep going. Glad you had a good year!
    Julia || juliainbluhm.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. To be honest I’m not all that interested in politics… but I really do not like Donald Trump for obvious reasons. Also I have been going through the same thing with my blog. Should I carry on and so on. But since joining Twitter and promoting my blog I’ve got so many new lovely readers and support and it’s made me feel tons better.

    Happy New Year!
    http://www.astoldbykirsty.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

