The Seventeen Edit

So I’m all for drugstore makeup and getting a bargain – sure I love a MAC Lipstick every once in a while and a good Benefit mascara, but at least 75% (don’t quote me on that) of my makeup is from the drugstore. And today I’m going to be talking about a brand which I have used in the past, but I think have become a lot more well known and exciting recently, so I was very excited to get my hands on some Seventeen products.

I’ve never owned a bronzer before. I know, what a crap beauty blogger I am. I’ve used contour but just never got round to picking up an actual bronzer so I didn’t really know what to expect. When this arrived I was really worried I would look like a pumpkin if I put it on. At least it would’ve been good for a Halloween makeup tutorial. But this is the 17 Instant Glow Bronzing Powder* and it actually is a really nice natural brown bronzer. It’s not the most pigmented thing in the world but it doesn’t come off nearly as orange as I thought it would. Which is actually good because it doesn’t give you the just come back from a holiday I’m a bronzed goddess look but it still warms up your face and gives a natural bronze. I wasn’t sure if it was matte but it does state on the packaging it is a soft matte pressed powder so if you’re looking for a not overly pigmented but natural, affordable bronzer for the winter months when you don’t want quite as much bronze glow, this might be for you. Mine is quite a light brown so it works really well with my pale skin, but I believe there is a medium shade too for those of you with darker skin tones, or just wanting a more intense bronze.

Next up are the 17 Mega Matte Lipsticks* and I will try not to ramble on too much but I have a lot to say about these. Oh my, how beautiful are they! The packaging isn’t stunning but it’s nice and sleek without being too boring. I’ve looked at the shade range and although they are mostly bold colours, there are a few gorgeous nudes, my personal covet (oooh look at me with my fancy schmancy words) is Looking Buff. However, I’m really glad the shades are a bit more out there because they push me out of my comfort zone and my Velvet Teddy rut.

The shades I have are Violet Summer, Rioja Your World and Orange You Gorgeous. These are definitely not shades I would’ve picked out myself but I’m actually so surprised that I love all the colours. Rioja your World is a wine red (Rioja is a type of wine by the way, don’t ask why I know that since I don’t like wine), pretty similar to the shade 107 by Rimmel but a little more red toned, Violet Summer was the one I was most worried about because I thought I would look like a kid that had raided her mums makeup stash, but honestly, if you just apply a sheer layer, it actually looks really unique and summery (I know summers pretty much over but anyway). I should probably say, it’s a pinky toned lilac but not too light or pastel. Lastly is Orange You Gorgeous (17 win the cute unique lipstick name competition) which I am so much more impressed with than I thought I would be. Again, I thought it would be another mums stash situation but no, you can build it up to a bolder orange, or just apply a sheer layer and its actually quite a natural, orangey toned nude – maybe that’s just my natural lip colour shining through but its unexpectedly gorgeous. The formula of these lipsticks overall is really nice – they are supposedly Mega Matte however they are SO comfortable on the lips and don’t go flaky. They are definitely buildable as they do start at a more sheer colour but can be built up to a lot more bold. I really like the formula of these and they aren’t the most long lasting but for £4.49 they are pretty dang good. They really aren’t that drying yet they really are matte.

Moving on from my 400 word rant about the beautiful lipsticks, is a product that has quickly become a part of my everyday makeup look. This is the 17 Skin Wow Concealer* which wow, is actually so stunning packaging wise, I’m pretty sure its a dupe for the famous YSL one. The first thing I would say is don’t be like me and pump out half the product when you first pick it up. This is supposed to be a brightening concealer for under the eyes and anywhere you want to highlight, which is great for my under eye circles that are the worst. This really does brighten, and its great coverage too. It’s not too thick or cakey and it blends out so well. Like I said, it has been glued to my undereyes ever since I got it. Unlike my Rimmel concealer which I have used for months and months, this one is actually lighter than my skin tone, perfect for highlighting, and actually lasts all day too. The Rimmel one is still great, it’s just been completely replaced by the beaut of a concealer. My only concern is that there’s only 2.5ml of product so it might run out quite quickly, but maybe that’s just standard concealer size. To be honest, it doesn’t exactly make my purse cry anyway and its definitely worth the purchase.

If you know me, I’m not the kind of person to eat my chips and leave my carrots until the end to try and put them off, if you get me. Basically, I like saving the best til last, which is why the 17 Instant Glow Pink Bronze Shimmer Brick* is the last product in this post. Because dang, highlight on fleek. I’ve used highlight occasionally and been lusting after a better one for a while, and I’ve definitely found it. These are dupes for the Bobbi Brown Shimmer Bricks which EVERY SINGLE beauty guru used to talk about. Oh man, this just gives the MOST GORGEOUS glow to the cheekbones. I’ve never wanted to wear highlight more, it was so painful having school and having to just wear concealer and mascara. I don’t really use the bronze,although it would look lovely as an eyeshadow in the autumn, I just mix the three champagney pinky tones – one little swipe will give a gorgeous natural highlight, but if you build it up yessss mate you are glowing! I am properly in love with this and it’s my favourite new beauty addition for a long long time. If you can pick up one product from 17, make it this highlight and you will not regret it.

I hope you enjoyed this post and the swatches. I said actually a lot of times because I was just so pleasantly surprised by everything – I was expecting them to be good, but not this good. You will be seeing a lot more of these products in my posts, I’m sure. *These products were kindly sent to me by 17 however all opinions are my own because I really do just love these makeup items and I will definitely be picking up some more,especially as they amazing sets at Christmas. If you’re not a member of the Seventeen Blogger Network yet, you really should be! And the heatwave in England is finally over so be expecting some more autumnal posts!

Once again thank you so much to Seventeen and their team for sending me these products! And did I mention they’re all under £6?

Ellie xoxo

 

3 thoughts on “The Seventeen Edit

Leave a Reply

