Benefit World Famous Neutrals

   
  

     
   
   If you read my What I Got For Christmas post, you might remember I received the Benefit World Famous Neutrals palette. Since then I have been trying it out and I thought I would do a review to let you guys know my opinion on it if you were thinking of investing in it. 

The palette comes with four powder eye shadows and two cream eyeshadow so in very cute packaging and the little tips and tricks booklet that comes in every Benefit set. Starting with the powder eyeshadows there are four shades: call my buff – a neutral matte yellowy white highlight shade, it’s complicated – a dusky rosey pink shade with a little shimmer, gilt-y pleasure – a gorgeous kinda shimmery warm toned brown shadow, and kiss me, i’m tipsy – an incredible dark purple shade with a gold shimmer running through it.

Honestly, I wasn’t that impressed with these. They are quite stiff and not that pigmented although they do blend well and can be built up. They do last a pretty long time on the lids although they aren’t waterproof but they would last a long day out. They aren’t terrible but my expectations were very high because it is Benefit and they didn’t reach the quality of high end I wanted.

I have still been reaching for these eyeshadows a lot though as they aren’t overly pigmented so they are quite natural and I’ve been liking using it’s complicated all over the lid, with a bit of gilt-y pleasure in the crease and outer corner and call my buff in the inner corners.

I have to say, I was a lot more impressed with the cream eyeshadows. If you read my blog much, you will know I love love love the Maybelline Colour Tattoos and these have a lot wetter texture to those but a bit sheerer but still buildable so I still really like them. There are two shades – my two cents (which was in my makeup edit post) – a shimmery warm toned gold and birthday suit – a darker cool toned matte taupey brown. The shades are really wearable and are great for a natural eye or as a base for eyeshadow. Also, when I was trying to wash the swatches off I left them under the hot tap for a long time and they didn’t budge at all until I scrubbed them off with soap. 

Overall, hmmm…if you are a massive Benefit lover and don’t mind splashing the cash – its £23.50 – even though the shades aren’t overly pigmented, yeah I think you might like this palette but I do feel like there are bigger, better palettes you can get from Boots or Superdrug for a whole lot cheaper. The cream eyeshadows are well worth it though, you can get a bigger size than in the palette for £15.50. I would rate this palette 3 stars out of 5.

Ellie xoxo

Leave a Reply

