The Denim Shirt

   

  

  

  

 A little while back I was feeling very unhappy with my wardrobe and felt like although it was growing to be my style again, I needed a new staple piece I could wear with any outfit and automatically feel more confident. I’d been reading a lot more fashion blog posts and just looking at other people’s fashion a lot more and I felt really inspired to try a denim shirt.

I was then browsing Topshop and I found a beautiful denim shirt…but it was £34. I couldn’t justify spending that much on something I wasn’t even sure about yet, so I headed over to the more affordable but still great quality New Look and found an almost identical shirt for only £18. I took the plunge and ordered it and ever since then I have been wearing it non-stop.

It looks perfect with any outfit, whether that’s as more of a jacket with a crop top and black skinny jeans or buttoned up with a statement necklace and tucked into a cute skirt – I haven’t had the confidence to actually wear that one yet but I have a vision it could look amazing.

I’ve always been scared of double denim, and a few years ago I wouldn’t have gone anywhere near it but I think as long as one of the denims is more subtle, like black or white jeans for example, it looks great.

This shirt is so comfortable and makes me feel really happy when I’m wearing it, but I also feel like it looks new and fresh and good and I think denim shirts are going to be popular this year. It sounds cliche but they really look tumblr too.

Top – Primark
Shirt – New Look
Jeans – Topshop
Shoes – Primark

I’ve found a new staple in my wardrobe and I can tell I will wear it A LOT. Do you own a denim shirt and if so what do you style it with?

Ellie xoxo

Leave a Reply

